Final Fingerprints Done!

August 13, 2010 rixgal
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

How can a simple plan of getting fingerprints done turn into a whole-day saga????  Because it’s the Crosbys trying to get it done…. and it’s for an international adoption… so you take the normal time and multiply it by 27.  :o) 

I thought I was so ready.  Then, we ended up with only one working car today.  So I borrowed a car. (Thanks, Dad!)  I went to get the money order for the FBI and my bank wanted me to pay them $5 for the service.  GAH!  I went to bank #2…. same thing… $5.  I know, in the grand scope of the cost of this adoption, $5 is NOTHING….. but I couldn’t pay it.  I ended up at Walmart…. 60 CENTS.  Thank you very much!

Heading down the highway to pick up Rick at his office… I realized that I didn’t remember where his office was.  I’ve only been there once.  So I looked for my cell phone… which didn’t appear to make the trip with me.  Bummer.  I did find his office and as I pulled up I heard my phone ringing.  It was under the driver’s seat.  Good!  Off to the Police station….. then the second police station.  It seems that in the time our fingerprints expired, fingerprinting in Phoenix, Arizona moved about 2 miles east of the last location.  We arrived and stood in line. 

When it was our turn to talk to the nice lady behind the glass, we showed I.D., signed our names and I wrote the check for $12.  Well, it seems your check has to have a number in the top right corner in order for it to be accepted at the Police station.  It was from the account I just opened and the new checks with numbers are not in my possession yet.  I wrote another check from a different account.  Fine.

We go and sit in the waiting area and Rick decides he needs to go visit the little boy’s room.  As soon as he gets behind the door with the stick man on it, they call his name.  Of course.  Eventually he made it through the correct secret door to be metal-detected.  I did as well.  I almost didn’t pass due to the cell phone in my pocket.  Whew.  Rick stayed in the fingerprinting room waiting for my prints to be completed…. which we found out is a no-no.  No loitering, even if it is your wife.  Busted by the police!

Off to find a computer because I forgot to copy all the FBI info for the fingerprinting cards.  We stopped at the flight center where Rick’s plane is. Finally, we were headed back to Rick’s office and we somehow ended up on the only road in downtown Phoenix with traffic at a stop-n-go pace that is currently being coated with new, oily and sticky rock pavement.  Dad’s car collects many rocks, oil and tar.  Great!  Rick takes the quickest side street to get off the tar trail and tries to take the highway to his office.  There must have been an accident on the highway because it was at a standstill.  (This whole trip was supposed to take 20 minutes.)

Eventually I drop Rick off and head to FedEx.  I have the wrong envelope with the wrong address form… all filled out, of course.  But I don’t have my FedEx account number.  I phoned home and thankfully I talked my 11-year-old son through finding the number and reading it to me. Thank the Lord, I taught the boy how to read!

And I returned my parent’s car… about two hours later than planned with a few more black marks than when I picked it up.  But our FBI fingerprints are sent off and will be in West Virginia tomorrow!

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Comments Add your own

  • 2. Kelly  |  August 14, 2010 at 2:06 am

    Now you need to pray the FBI doesn’t reject them & make you do all that again :)

    They rejected mine, nearly causing me to have a heart attack–it all worked out, but man that was stressful.

    When I got home from Colombia, there was a voicemail on my cell phone from the sweet FBI lady that I gave my sob story about needing my fingerprints to be re-done & processed within a week, not 12 weeks, since we were about to go to Colombia. She was making sure we got what we needed.

    Just another adoption saga :)

  • 3. rixgal  |  August 14, 2010 at 4:25 am

    Now Kelly, that did not bring comfort to my soul!

    If I did have to go back, which I’m believing I don’t, at least I know where to go this time!

  • 4. Mike Thomas  |  August 16, 2010 at 1:28 pm

    I am writing to ask for your permission to include your posts on
    AdoptionExperiences.com and include a link to your blog in our directory. We would
    include a link back to your blog fully crediting you for your work
    along with a profile about you listed on AdoptionExperiences.com . Please let us
    know as soon as possible.

    Mike@adoptionexperiences.com

    Mike Thomas
    Editor-in-Chief
    AdoptionExperiences.com


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Time Flies!

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Blogroll

 
